What was the main reason why I began this blog?

This blog, Motors Are Fun, came about through one of my mentors, Dan Miller. Dan Miller is a prolific author, speaker, and coach. He has written New York Times best-selling masterpieces like 48Days to the Work You Love, No More Mondays, and Wisdom Meets Passion (which he co-authored with his son, Jared Angaza). I’ve listened to his podcasts since 2010 where he answered questions about getting a job you really enjoy, entrepreneurship, starting a business, or the myriad of questions regarding how work fits into life.

 

dan miller cwe

Dan Miller and Mike at Dan’s converted barn called ‘The Sanctuary’

After finally writing my goals for 2013, I decided it was time to do something about creating a Web site and looked introspectively about areas in my past that I enjoyed so much that time passed quickly. Well, as mentioned in my “About Us” video, I’ve been fascinated by what magnetism can do. I’ve always been a “maker” long before the term became popular — building tree houses, wooden go-carts, Estes rockets, model airplanes,  birdhouses, all types of model kits, mazes, and, of course, DC and BLDC motors. It seemed natural to combine my love of building small electric motors with my love of teaching. Over the past 15 months I’ve noticed my writing has moved from speaking to middle-school aged students about motors, robots, and STEM to you parents and interested parties regarding these topics. It has been a great outlet and very enjoyable and I trust you have learned something new along the way.

 

Quote for the Day: “An average person with average talents and ambition and average education, can outstrip the most brilliant genius in our society, if that person has clearly focused goals.” — Brian Tracy

Leave a Reply

